Home » About »

The Council of the School

The Council’s task is to support the Head of the School in all of his actions related to the functioning of the School, as well as provide communication with the Faculties and Scientific Discipline Councils. The competencies of the Council are specified by a Resolution of the Senate of the Warsaw University of Technology of April 27, 2022 on the principles of organization and operation of the Doctoral School of the Warsaw University of Technology.

The main tasks and powers of the Council are:

  1. approving the drafts of:
    a)  the School Regulations
    b)  educational program
    c)  rules of admission to the Doctoral School
  2. adopting regulations for the operation of the Council
  3. adopting regulations of the permanent committees of the School
  4. giving opinion on the application to set the limits of admission to the School
  5. approving syllabi for the courses offered for PhD students within the accepted educational program
  6. developing and monitoring of the internal quality system of the educational process
  7. nominating candidates to the disciplinary committee for PhD students and the appeal disciplinary committee for PhD students
  8. accepting the report given by the Head of the School on the School’s functioning
  9. performing other tasks related to the functioning of the Doctoral School, indicated by the Rector or the Head of the School


The composition of the Council is determined by the Rector’s Decision no 66/2024 of April 11, 2024 on the establishment of the Council of the Doctoral School of the Warsaw University of Technology.

The Council of the Doctoral School currently consists of: 

  1. prof. Paweł Pyrzanowski, Chair; 
  2. prof. Ewa Karwowska, Head of the permanent committee; 
  3. prof. Anna Kosieradzka, Head of the permanent committee; 
  4. prof. Aneta Pobudkowska-Mirecka, Head of the permanent committee. 

Representatives of the Scientific Disciplines Councils: 

  1. dr hab. inż. arch. Maciej Lasocki (SDC Architecture and Urban Planning); 
  2. prof. dr hab. inż. Andrzej Dzieliński (SDC Automation, Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Space Technologies); 
  3. dr. hab. inż. Marcin Olszewski, prof. uczelni (SDC Biotechnology) 
  4. dr hab. inż. Krzysztof Szczypiorski, prof. uczelni (SDC Information and Communication Technology); 
  5. dr hab. inż. Waldemar Smolik, prof. uczelni (SDC Biomedical Engineering); 
  6. dr hab. inż. Maciej Szwast, prof. uczelni (SDC Chemical Engineering); 
  7. dr hab. inż. Jan Król, prof. uczelni (SDC Civil Engineering, Geodesy and Transport); 
  8. dr hab. inż. Tomasz Wejrzanowski, prof. uczelni (SDC Materials Engineering); 
  9. dr hab. inż. Edyta Ładyżyńska-Kozdraś, prof. uczelni (SDC Mechanical Engineering); 
  10. prof. dr hab. inż. Tadeusz Skoczkowski (SDC Environmental Engineering, Mining and Energy); 
  11. prof. dr hab. Krzysztof Chełmiński (SDC Mathematics); 
  12. dr hab. inż. Dominik Jańczewski, prof. uczelni (SDC Chemical Sciences); 
  13. prof. dr hab. inż. Andrzej Kołodziejczyk (SDC Physical Sciences); 
  14. dr hab. inż. Eryk Głodziński, prof. uczelni (SDC Management and Quality Studies). 

Representatives of the Faculties: 

  1. dr hab. inż. arch. Karolina Tulkowska-Słyk, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Architecture);
  2. dr hab. Justyna Łacny, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Administration and Social Sciences); 
  3. dr hab. Zofia Kowalewska, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Civil Engineering, Mechanics and Petrochemistry); 
  4. dr hab. Jolanta Mierzejewska, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Chemistry); 
  5. dr hab. inż. Adam Abramowicz, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Electronics and Information Technology); 
  6. dr hab. inż. Jacek Rąbkowski, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Electrical Engineering); 
  7. dr hab. inż. Paweł Falaciński  (Faculty of Building Services, Hydro and Environmental Engineering); 
  8. dr hab. inż. Piotr Fronczak, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Physics); 
  9. dr hab. inż. Robert Olszewski, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Geodesy and Cartography); 
  10. prof. dr hab. inż. Paweł Gierycz (Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering); 
  11. dr hab. inż. Marcin Gajewski, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Civil Engineering); 
  12. prof. dr hab. inż. Dariusz Oleszak (Faculty of Materials Science and Engineering); 
  13. prof. dr hab. inż. Jacek Mandziuk (Faculty of Mathematics and Information Science); 
  14. prof. dr hab. inż. Jacek Szumbarski (Faculty of Power and Aeronautical Engineering); 
  15. dr hab. inż. Rafał Świercz, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering); 
  16. dr hab. inż. Michał Józwik, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Mechatronics); 
  17. dr hab. inż. Jacek Dybała, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Automotive and Construction Machinery Engineering); 
  18. dr hab. inż. Roland Jachimowski, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Transport); 
  19. dr. hab. inż. Tadeusz Grzeszczyk, prof. uczelni (Faculty of Management); 
  20. dr hab. Magdalena Majchrzak, prof. uczelni (The College of Economics and Social Sciences). 

Representatives of the PhD students 

  1. mgr inż. Mikołaj Płachta (doktorant);
  2. mgr. inż. Anna Szymczyk (doktorantka);
  3. mgr. inż. Mikhail Ivanenko (doktorant);
  4. mgr. inż. Julia Kuczak (doktorantka);
  5. mgr inż. Irene Ladnykh (doktorantka);
  6. mgr inż. Mateusz Nieborek (doktorant);
  7. mgr inż. Gustaw Ostrowski (doktorant);
  8. mgr inż. Karol Radziszewski (doktorant).